Republic of Korea

Official Name : Republic of Korea
Capital : Seoul
Government : Republic
Official Language : Korean
Head of State : President
Head of Government : Prime Minister
Highest Court : Supreme Court
Currency : Won
Area : 99,268 sq km
Population : 48 millions
President : Lee Myung-bak

South Korea, country in northeastern Asia that occupies the southern portion of the Korea Peninsula; officially known as the Republic of Korea. South Korea is bounded on the north by North Korea; on the east by the East Sea (Sea of Japan); on the southeast and south by the Korea Strait, which separates it from Japan; and on the west by the Yellow Sea. The capital and largest city is Seoul.

The nation of South Korea was established in 1948 following the post-World War II partitioning of Korea between the occupying forces of the United States in the south and the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) in the north. After the Korean War (1950-1953), South Korea rose from devastation to become one of the world’s largest economies in the 1990s.